Virtual Tour

Software engineering (SE) brings together interesting avenues of both fundamental and applied research contributing to the broad spectrum of activities involved in the creation of large, complex, industrial strength software systems having high quality, dependability and within reasonable resources. The current research covers a wide variety of areas ranging from empirical to formal aspects of SE. At IIITB, the research in SE covers both upstream (requirement and design) and downstream (testing and maintenance) SDLC activities cutting across a variety of application domains (enterprise, embedded etc). Here is a list of some of the broad areas in which our faculty members are working: Pattern oriented software engineering, software architecture, distributed software engineering, model driven software engineering (MDSE), software testing, verification and validation (V&V) of web-services and V&V of embedded software (cyber-physical systems and adaptive systems) among others.

  1. Software Design Laboratory (Prof. K. V. Dinesha)
    The research focus here is on the design and architecture of software. Design patterns approach for the software development process is studied, with special emphasis on the impacts of design principals and patterns on the flexibility as one of the prime focus.
  2. Software Engineering Laboratory (Profs. Meenakshi D' Souza, Sujit Kumar Chakrabarti)
    Primary research focus of SE lab at IIITB is on formal aspects of software engineering. Current projects that we are working on involve :
    1. architecture analysis, testing, verification and program analysis for embedded software,
    2. verification and validation of web software, and
    3. software testing.
  3. The aim of the lab is to expand the scope to include all aspects of software engineering, from requirements and design to testing and verification. Software specification and programming languages are two areas under consideration for exploring.

Faculty Members

  1. Prof. Chandrashekar Ramanathan
  2. Prof. K. V. Dinesha
  3. Prof. Meenakshi D'Souza
  4. Prof. Sujit Kumar Chakrabarti
  5. Prof. Thangaraju